African Population Health Research Centre (APHRC)- Consortium for Advanced Research Training in Africa (CARTA)

CARTA Doctoral Programme

The aim of the programme is to strengthen doctoral training in public health and population studies. The programme is led by the African Population and Health Research Center and the University of the Witwatersrand. Members: Makerere University (Ug); Moi University (Ke); National University of Rwanda; Obafemi Awolowo University (Ng); University of Dar es Salaam (Tz); University of Ibadan (Ng); University of Malawi; University of Nairobi (Ke); Agincourt Health and Population Unit (SA); Ifakara Health Institute (Tz); KEMRI/Wellcome Trust Research Programme (Ke); WHO Special Programme for Training and Research in Tropical Diseases (TDR); Swiss Tropical Institute (CH); University of Colorado (U.S.); University of Warwick (UK); Canadian Coalition for Global Health Research; Monash University (Au); Johns Hopkins University (U.S.); Ongoing discussions with the Nordic School of Public Health, University of UmeƄ (Se). During the 2012/2013 academic year, the CARTA program is planning to offer up to 25 PhD fellowships.