NRF Innovation Bursary Scheme

Innovation Bursary Scheme

For South African citizens/permanent residents. Science, engineering and technology study areas aligned with national priorities and the DST’s Grand Challenges. These will include but not limited to biotechnology, cellular and molecular biology, engineering disciplines, computing science, physics and astronomy, mathematical sciences, nanotechnology, chemistry, earth sciences, ecology and medical sciences. Doctoral students will receive R90, 000 per annum for three years. In addition each student may access a maximum of ZAR 40 000 for international study visits or conference presentations, and up to R15 000 for local conference attendance within the three-year period.