Post-Doctoral/Reintegration Grants

African Climate Change Fellowships Program (ACCFP)

African Climate Change Fellowships Program (ACCFP). Funded by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC, Canada) / Department for International Development (DFID, UK). Doctoral Fellowships that follow a split site model, lasting for 12 months or less and carry a maximum award of $16,500 USD, and for those undertaking doctoral research at an African university to enable them to undertake work at a host institution. Funded by IDRC, ACCFP was started in 2007 by the African Academy of Science (AAS) and global change SysTem for Analysis, Research and Training (START) and the Institute of Research Assessment (IRA, Dar es Salaam). ACCFP offered experiential learning, education, research and training opportunities to African professionals, researchers and graduate students that enhance their capabilities for advancing and applying knowledge for climate change adaptation in Africa. In 2008 ACCFP approved 45 fellowships (from nearly 300 applications) to candidates from 18 African countries. These fellowships were either focused on policy studies, or on teaching climate change. Fellowships have also been offered to pursue doctoral and postdoctoral studies. In its next two rounds of awards (2011/2012), the ACCFP will offer three types of Fellowships: 1. Adaptation Science Fellowships 2. Adaptation Policy Fellowships 3. Adaptation Teaching Fellowships in partnerships with START and with support from Climate Change Adaptation in Africa (CCAA).

Consortium for Advanced Research Training in Africa (CARTA) -- African Population Health Research Centre (APHRC)

Postdoctoral Fellowships and / or Re-entry Research Grants To enable CARTA award holders to consolidate research skills.

Tanzanian Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH)

The TASENE programme, is an initiative between Tanzania, the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA) and The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research. Begins June 2012 and will fund research teams involving two post-doctoral fellows from any of the three participating countries. Fellows will be based in their home institutions but allowed exchange visits with their research partners from any of the three countries.

Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research

Innovational Research Incentives Scheme. Three streams, respectively for new postdoctoral researchers (recently gained their PhDs), experienced postdoctoral researchers (several years of experience) and professorial researchers. Funding for new postdoctoral researchers is for 3 years, up to 250,000 euro. Funding allows grant holders to spend time at Dutch institutions.

TDR (Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases)

TDR Re-entry grants. ($50,000 maximum over a period of 3 years. Scientists from disease endemics countries who are no more than 40 years of age and have recently (within 24 months) completed a PhD can submit a proposal.

TWAS – Academy of Sciences for the Developing World

Postdoctoral Research Fellowships. 14 different fellowships are offered for researchers from developing countries to study in Pakistan, Brazil, India, China, Kenya, Mexico, Malaysia and Thailand. Awards are in the natural and physical sciences.

UNU - United Nations University

JSPS-UNU Postdoctoral Fellowship. For young scholars and policy-makers, especially from the developing world. Tenable at UNU-IAS in Yokohama or UNU-ISP in Tokyo, Japan. 12-24 months with a monthly stipend of JPY362,000 (£2700/$4100) and a research grant of JPY1,500,000 (£11,000/$17,400). UNU-ISP awards are currently offered in International Cooperation and Development, Global Change and Sustainability, Peace and Security. Aimed at those who have completed their PhD in the last six years.